Leave a comment

No Pressure

960034_1422963144583578_563751117_n

I set the bar intentionally low for myself and others, in an effort to avoid conflict and pain. “Expect nothing, never be disappointed” is my mantra.

But I am expecting, expecting that conflict, that pain. I do have cause and I believe there is nothing abnormal about my defenses. The constant barrage of trials has brought me there and continue to validate my expectations.

Some people expect quite a lot from others. It is exhausting, isn’t it? Trying to be something you’re not. Not doing what you would like to do and not saying what you would like to say, in an effort to appease someone else. To try to live up to their expectation of who we should be.

I don’t think we should all just blurt out whatever we feel like without any regard for others feelings or beliefs. I don’t believe we can all just run around and do whatever we want and ignore the needs and desires of others in the process.

But I do believe we should be able to do what makes us happy, as long as it’s not infringing on others happiness. We should be able to express ourselves honestly and respectfully without fear of being condemned or criticized, especially by those who love us.

Live and let live.

~KT~

Leave a Reply

the poet's billow

a resource for moving poetry

bellanoctis

pensive poetry & photography

National Report

America's #1 Independent News Source

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Let's Queer Things Up!

Talking trans identity, mental health, and more.

helenasuzannerblog

MidLife Midwife

Daddy Anarchy

From Punk to Parent and the Gloriously Bumpy Ride Along the Way

BLUNTmoms

honest. direct. surprisingly hilarious.

Papa Does Preach

The Ramblings Of A Father Just Making It Up As I Go Along

