2 Comments

How NOT to Write

I spent last night trying desperately to pull something out of my mind and put it down on paper. I wanted to share something beautiful. The harder I tried, the less I could say.

I admire those who can take words and make them into something magical.
I look to them to express the things I can’t.
Those touchingly beautiful stories that take us away into a place far from our own world, bringing that great escape we all need sometimes.

I would have settled for something ordinary. A tale of life in the slow lane perhaps. Simple, yet poignant…or humorous.
We need more laughter.
Again, it’s with great admiration that I read things like that. Those glimpses into someone’s everyday average life. Basic truths that everyone can relate to.

But, the words that draw me in completely are those born from great pain and sorrow.
They can reach deep into our hearts, touching a place we thought only we knew existed.
They let us know we are not alone. Giving us the comfort that someone else feels what we feel or thinks what we think.
Shouting from between the lines, “I understand!”.

As I’m writing this now, I’m still struggling with every syllable.
Trying to makes sense. Trying to gather up all the stray thoughts running marathons in my mind.
They’re sprinting and jumping with no direction. Like children on the playground they dart from one place to the next. Exhausted, but still moving.
I want to scoop them up and tell them it’s time to go home, time to rest now.

It seems I just can’t fight this feeling anymore. I have to go with the flow and let happen naturally.
…and that is something beautiful.

~KT~

Does anyone else feel the conflict between what you want to do and what you are doing?
Please comment and share your thoughts.

2 comments on “How NOT to Write

  1. May I just say what a relief to find someone who genuinely knows what
    they are talking about on the internet. You actually know
    how to bring a problem to light and make it important.
    More and more people need to read this and understand this side of the story.
    I was surprised that you’re not more popular since
    you definitely have the gift.

    Like

    • Thank you so much. I took some time away. From thinking and writing. Today I felt I should come back and your words are so appreciated and helpful. Timing is everything.

      Like

Leave a Reply

the poet's billow

a resource for moving poetry

bellanoctis

pensive poetry & photography

National Report

America's Shittiest Independent News Source

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Let's Queer Things Up!

Talking trans identity, mental health, and more.

helenasuzannerblog

MidLife Midwife

Daddy Anarchy

From Punk to Parent and the Gloriously Bumpy Ride Along the Way

BLUNTmoms

honest. direct. surprisingly hilarious.

Papa Does Preach

The Ramblings Of A Father Just Making It Up As I Go Along

