Leave a comment

#TBT

10544416_1508973822649176_8010548267610466978_n

I found this picture on Etsy.
I was not the lucky buyer. But thanks for the memories…

I had this same radio. I was about 13 years old and remember the day my mother bought it for me. A random gift, for no reason.
They are the best kind.

It was my constant companion for at least a dozen years, maybe more.

It sat in my bedroom window so I could get the best reception. If I position the antenna just right; so that it was touching the metal screen, I could get the best heavy metal rock station ever!
It sang me to sleep and through tears. It brought me to a whole other world outside of myself.

It also had a place on a shelf in the bathroom.
It accompanied my singing in the shower and dancing while getting ready for school or a night out.

When I was a wife and mother, it helped me get through some long and stressful days. The kitchen window was its new home. I didn’t work at the time, we had only one car and I was home alone with a very difficult child.
I still had this radio when the beginning of the end of my marriage was becoming my reality.
If I could listen to music, if I could sign and dance like no one was watching (because no one was), I would be alright.
Music was my mental escape.

This pink radio was one of my prized possessions. A bit of a status symbol, since I grew up in a time and place where most families had only one television, if that and children didn’t have any electronics of their own.
But more than that, it was the reason I came to love music so much, the reason I sing (off-key), the reason I dance and one of the reasons I started writing.

Thank you Panasonic and thank you Mom.

~KT~

Leave a Reply

the poet's billow

a resource for moving poetry

bellanoctis

pensive poetry & photography

National Report

America's #1 Independent News Source

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Let's Queer Things Up!

Talking trans identity, mental health, and more.

helenasuzannerblog

MidLife Midwife

Daddy Anarchy

From Punk to Parent and the Gloriously Bumpy Ride Along the Way

BLUNTmoms

honest. direct. surprisingly hilarious.

Papa Does Preach

The Ramblings Of A Father Just Making It Up As I Go Along

